Grudziądzka 5, 87-100 Toruń
tel.: +48 56 611 3310

About us

The Faculty of Physics, Astronomy and Informatics is one of the 16 faculties of Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń, Poland. It was established on September 1, 1993, when the former Faculty of Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry was divided into three.  In 2019 the structure of the Faculty was reorganized. It includes:

Institute of Astronomy is located in Piwnice, 12 km north of Toruń. The Institute of Physics and the Institute of Engineering and Thechnology are located in the Aleksander Jabłoński Institute at no. 5/7 Grudziądzka Street. The building houses the Dean’s Office, the faculty library, and the National Laboratory for Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics.

The Faculty employs about two hundred people, including 64 full professors and associate professors (holders of a post-doctoral degree) and 71 academics with M.Sc. or PhD degrees.

The Physical Sciences Discipline Council has the right to confer doctoral and post-doctoral degrees in physical sciences (physics and biophysics) and the Astronomy Discipline Council has the right to confer physical science doctoral and post-doctoral degrees in astronomy.

The address is: ul. Grudziądzka 5, 87-100 Toruń, Poland
Tel: +4856 611 3249 (Dean’s Office), +4856  611 3310 (switchboard), fax: +4856 622 5397